0 Menu

Hell Bent "Apocalyptic Lamentations" LP w/download


Non USA customers ordering multiple items: excess shipping will be refunded.

Hell Bent "Apocalyptic Lamentations" LP w /download
150 gram orange or red vinyl with heavy board jacket and printed insert. Includes download card.
Armageddon Label
Armageddon 024
Release date: June 28th 2019

Non USA customers:
Any excess shipping on multiple item orders will be refunded!
Sorry it's complicated that way!

Co-release with Atomic Action Records

Following the success of their 6-song cassette EP, Hell Bent have continued their brand of metal with more varied songwriting and an bigger production this time around. "Apocalyptic Lamentations" contains 9 tracks of old school metal played with a raw punk edge. They have been playing around New England and beyond for the last couple years. Influenced by 80's-90's Thrash, Speedmetal, Crossover, Scandinavian & Japanese Hardcore.

Brian, Hell Bent’s drummer (he’s also the o.g. drummer for Dropdead, you fucking assholes) explains that after Neon Bitches, another band he played in with Hell Bent’s guitarists John and Shawn, “kind of sputtered out” he found himself looking for “something more metal.”

“We talked about it and then just started doing it,” Brian says. “We all listen to metal and it was easy to throw in some ‘Slayer beats’ in the new songs we were working on. It was also easy for me to work in some Celtic Frost-inspired beats in the songs, too. We still have Swedish ‘d-beat’ sort of stuff in there a bit like the last two bands I was in with the guys.”

For musicians like Brian, John, Shawn, and vocalist Badger, whose scathing imperatives you may recognize from the Agoraphobic Nosebleed side of their split with Cattle Press, it’s “easy” for them to throw a ‘Slayer beat’ here, or a Celtic Frost section there because they’ve all played in so many different bands. But Hell Bent represents something like a boiling point for all their activity hitherto forming this deadly outfit.

“Before I did Neon Bitches with these guys, the band I did was essentially Black/Doom, so doing those genres when it came to writing songs again wasn’t what I wanted to focus on,” Hell Bent’s guitarist Shawn admits. “For me personally Hell Bent is a ‘crossover’ of metal/hardcore/punk sub genres of music which I grew up with and still am passionate about today.”

The lyrics, according to Badger, represent: “A challenge to the unnatural and destructive concept of dualism that both Christianity and Islam promote. Reality is far more nuanced than good/evil, light/dark, salvation/damnation, and the fact that almost the entire cultural narrative worldwide is defined by these simplistic concepts that these two religions propagate leaves me with little hope for the future of ‘civilization.’”

Track Listing:
01. Welcome To The Dirt
02. Oppression.Enslavement.Coercion
03. Ichthyosis
04. Pandemic
05. Cerberus Unbound
06. The Season Begins
07. Prey For War
08. The Scythian Horde
09. Sledgehammer / Hell Bent

"Apocalyptic Lamentations" was recorded at Black Heart Sound and mastered at Mammoth Sound Mastering and will be available via Armageddon Label and Atomic Actions Records on vinyl. Vinyl master cut by Carl Saff / Saff Mastering (Elder, Fu Manchu, Boston Strangler, Elder, No Tolerance, Angel Dust etc) and pressed at Furnace Mfg.

Past and present Members of: Dropdead, Agoraphobic Nosebleed, Ulcer, Paindriver, Vincebus Eruptum, Straight to Hell, Advocate, Neon Bitches, Hard Drug
For fans of: Sodom, Cryptic Slaughter, Possessed, Blood Feast, Aura Noir, Impaled Nazarene, Terrorizer, Wolfpack, Sacrifice, English Dogs

Tags: Providence, Rhode Island, Metal, Thrash Metal, Speed Metal, Metal Punk, ,Blackened Thrash, Crossover, D-beat

Cover art by: Drew Elliott